Pulled in a Hundred Directions

I feel as if I am being pulled in a hundred different directions these days.   I am painting my heart out trying to get ready for my show next week. Also, I’ve been working with a printer and photographer designing cards, prints and giclee’s from my recent paintings.   It is also that time of year when all the paper work has to mailed off to join in on the summer art events around Victoria.   It has all been a bit overwhelming and stressful.  To make matters worse I have not been able to get down to the harbour to sketch.  I feel I am one miserable artist at the moment trying to do it all.     

I’ve been painting hard and steady the past few months.   I work hard but I don’t produce as much work as I believe I should be able to produce.   I assume I should be able to paint faster than I do.   It causes me a lot of frustration.   I figured out for every four paintings I paint I might be happy with one in the end.  It is disappointing when you put in two months of work and you end up with one decent painting.   I wish my odds were higher but they are not.   I am trying to learn to accept that this is just the way it is. I figure when I am old and (maybe) famous I’ll call these unsuccessful paintings my studies and they will sell for a fortune.   One can always hope.

I’ve been working with Scott over at “Art Ink Print” printing copies of my paintings. He was recommended to me from the Artist in Motion group I belong too.  He’s a Victoria boy who has grown up on the waterfront and is also passionate about our working harbour.  Like me, he sees the way the waterfront is changing and shifting.   He gets my paintings; he understands what I am trying to say in my work.

 If you click on the photo the word’s will come unfussed.

Scott is the sweetest guy.   He’s talkative, informative and offers a wealth of artistic knowledge.   Being an artist himself he understands and supports you in ways I don’t think too many other printers around town would be able to do.  I highly recommend his services to anyone thinking of going down this road.  He’s a great guy to get you started and you can find him above Starbucks at Yates and Government Street.  

I am miserable when I am working this diligently.  I am missing my boys and the harbour.   I haven’t been able to get out sketching.   The red mountain is sitting idle in the driveway; the dog is lying around looking at me with sappy eyes.  It seems like I am cemented to the house with an endless list of painting and household chores.  An artist’s life is a struggle at the best of time and no offense to the men artists out there but I do believe women have more on their plate than men artist do.  For me it’s one huge juggling act between my art, home, and business.   

I will be out sketching and bugging the boys soon.  I have enough paintings completed for my upcoming Sidney show.  They are all varnished and ready to go.   I can pick up my prints from Scott on Monday for my open house Monday evening.  I have a new painting started and sitting on the easle ready for me to paint.   It is of the Pilot boat sitting up on blocks at the shipyards.   I hope to finish it for the Sidney show.  It will be a bonus painting if I get it done.  I have my paperwork completed and mailed off for my summer venues. The house is still a mess but who cares as I am going to hit the road with the dog and the Red Mountain as soon as this show is over.   My fingers are itching to get out there and sketch.

Don’t laugh to loud at this sketch.  It’s about a 10 minute drawing in the wind on my way home from the printers.  I couldn’t pass by this scence without trying at least a quick sketch.  It will be interesting to see how I develop it into a painting.  I do have inspiration galore when I spot my boys at work. 

So until next time,

Janet

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Pulled in a Hundred Directions

  1. Shelly

    We may be pulled in 100 directions, but we always bounce back!
    I can almost feel the wind in your last sketch…looking forward to seeing this one on canvas……

    Are you going to sell your prints, posters, and giclees on your blog? These prints on your post look amazing!

Leave a comment